Friday, June 19, 2009

Designated Trout Streams of Southwestern Michigan

Fisheries Order (FO) 210.08 lists Designated Trout Streams for the State of Michigan (.pdf), to wit:
Under the authority of Section 48701(o), as amended, being Sections 324.48701(o) of the Michigan Compiled Laws, the Director of the Department of Natural Resources on November 8, 2007, order that for a period of five years the streams and portions of streams in the list which follows are hereby designated as trout streams.

Unless otherwise described, the location description listed after the stream name indicates the downstream limit of the trout designation. All of the stream and its tributaries, unless excepted, from that point upstream are designated trout waters [emphases added]. Exceptions are italicized.
The following lists—excerpted from FO-210.08—include all streams, or portions of streams, currently designated as trout streams in Berrien, Cass, and Van Buren counties. These three counties encompass all of southwestern Michigan, as defined by the Southwestern Michigan Tourist Council.

Of the 52 designated trout streams of southwestern Michigan, 23 (including McCoy Creek) are located in Berrien County, 13 in Cass County (including 2 shared with Berrien), and 16 in Van Buren County:
  • Berrien County
  • Cass County
  • Van Buren County
  • Twenty-nine of the streams (including McCoy Creek) are part of the St. Joseph River basin, 8 are part of the Paw Paw River basin (which is technically a sub-unit of the St. Joseph River basin), 5 are part of the Galien River basin, 5 are part of the Black River basin, and 3 drain directly into Lake Michigan.

    Each of these 52 localities is within a 1 hour drive of Buchanan, Michigan.



    Post a Comment

    Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

    << Home


    The FatBirder's Nest
    FatBirder Web Ring